• A bitter Christian is no credit to the Gospel
  • Tearing, looking at the negative
  • I have so many things to rejoice over
  • Not many verses that tell us to gripe
  • Many that tell us to build up and rejoice
  • It’s problematic to find that which is evil & camp on it, instead of finding what is good.
  • Abiding in Jesus is fullness of joy
    • Difference between happiness and joy
      • Happiness – based on externals
      • Joy – based on the Lord, not related to outward circumstances, based on relationship w/Jesus
  • If I am in a right relationship with Jesus, I WILL have joy
    • Rejoice evermore – should/needs to be a constant
  • Prayer
    • Communion
    • Petition
      • Jesus encourages us to pray for our needs
    • Intercession
      • Where I see beyond my own borders
      • Take your cares, make them your prayers
  • I can’t give thanks for everything, unless I’m convinced that God is working everything for the good
  • The Spirit is grieved & quenched when we don’t submit to His leading
    • When I react in fear
  • Ninja Chuck vs. The Fly
  • Despise not prophecies
    • Keep services orderly
    • No, peeps are not going to just stand up in public, general services & start babbling off
      • “yes…I’m quenching… your spirit, anyway…”
    • At the same time – don’t despise prophecy
      • …only, test all things, that you might hold fast to what is good
    • The teaching of the Word is not that spectacular – but it’s lasting.
  • Abstain from every appearance of evil
    • For pastors – tnis is especially important
    • I cannot be too careful at this point
  • The natural mind cannot understand the things of the Spirit

  • Advertisements