• It’s amazing what an environment of faith, love, and truth can do.
  • We limit ourselves to ourselves too much.
  • Paul had a heart of great boldness in God, but with great conflict.
    • The people who had wanted his help initially, turned on him & lit into him
    • “The last time I was sent somewhere by God, I got my head kicked in!”
    • …but is it worth it?
    • …it is if you’re called.
  • Can’t look back – keep fighting through for the sake of the people God called you to.
  • Conflicts are part of the ball game – they don’t go away.
  • “If you think about it, most of us (pastors) just aren’t all that sane.”
  • The devil would love you to “play church.”
  • Satan hates your guts.
  • Conflict is a gift – it’s a great purifier – it will either crush us, or draw us to the Lord.
  • This isn’t heaven – so get up & fight
  • “We have been approved by God to be entrusted with the Gospel” – & that’s wat drove Paul on.
  • Am I seeking to please God…?
  • If I’m seeking to be approved, I will be tested.
    • Everything I want to trust in I want to be tested
    • What’s more powerful, more important than the Gospel?
  • Does the Gospel own my heart…?
  • My relationship with this Book (the Bible) is a heart thing.
  • I would rather teach a small little sermon that had real faith than a fancy one with sophistication that draws men to my imagined greatness.
  • Don’t despise the day of small beginnings.
    • That Bible study for 5 people is just as important to God as one for 5000
  • What is it that’s holding me back?
    • Does the Lord have my heart, or have I let it grow cold…?
  • A local church, to not labor in vain, I must have a mother’s affection for the people.
    • Does my son ever thank me for changing his diapers?
    • …see how this applies to the ministry?
    • It’s not about being appreciated – and I probably won’t be
  • Pastors have to be “non-quitters” – but also gentle.
  • God would fan the flame of someone who was about to go out.
  • There are many bruised people – treat them
    with gentleness, not brutality.

    • We can’t be too busy not to cherish the people & be gentle.
    • Chuck seems to love everybody – even the bruised.
  • Give not just the Gospel, but mylife, too
    • When you give your heart to people, you’re going to get hurt.
    • Paul wasn’t a disconnected professional.
    • Many of the people you give your life for won’t like you.
      • Do it anyway.
  • Fathers invest in their kids and don’t expect anything in return.
  • The Gospel is what it’s about – not me.
